Call for Applications and Nominations – 2022 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

Don’t miss it! The call for applications and nominations is now open to become a UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Laureate! This year’s theme is Transforming Literacy Learning Spaces. Deadline is 20 June 2022 #LiteracyDay. Learn more here:

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. 506 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards)

           Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development.

           Each of the three UNESCO King Sejong prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US $20,000.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

           The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.

           Each of the three UNESCO Confucius prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US $30,000.

Who is eligible to apply?

  • Institutions, organizations and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.
  • Eligible programmes or projects who have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

How to submit the applications and nominations – two stages 

  • The first stage is for an applicant to fill in and submit an application form through either a National Commission for UNESCO or an International Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) maintaining official relations with UNESCO.
  • The second stage is for the concerned National Commission or international NGO to review and nominate the successful candidatures to the Secretariat of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

Selection timeline

  • April: launch of the call for nominations
  • June: last date to submit online nominations
  • July: international Jury Meeting
  • August: announcement of the prize winners
  • September: award ceremony in Paris, France (TBC)



Leave a Comment

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.