IoF Announces New Awards As National Fundraising Awards Open Entries For 2019

The Institute of Fundraising has opened entries for the 2019 National Fundraising Awards and revealed four exciting new awards that celebrate the incredible fundraising from the last year.

Now in its 29th year, the National Fundraising Awards is the only award ceremony of its kind that recognises and rewards fundraising excellence across the charity sector. The 2019 Awards will see the introduction of four new awards that will highlight and celebrate diversity and excellence across the fundraising community.

The winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony held at the Brewery in London on Monday 1 July 2019. The ceremony takes place as part of the IoF’s Fundraising Convention.

Katie Johnson, Head of Events and Communities at the IoF said

“I’m delighted to announce the opening of entries for 2019 National Fundraising Awards, and I’m pleased to reveal the new awards that will really help us celebrate the incredible work that fundraisers have done over the past year. Here at the IoF, we’re anticipating the 2019 awards to be the biggest and best yet.”

Howard Lake, Chair of the Awards Judging Panel said

“Fundraisers are incredible people, raising vital funds for their charitable causes with often limited resources. Large and small charities show fantastic creativity, engaging all kinds of donors, to enable their essential work to continue and grow. The National Fundraising Awards are the opportunity to shine a light on those that make the very best fundraising happen. The judging panel and I look forward to seeing your entries.”

Read the full list of categories here

New for 2019:

  • Fundraising Campaign of the Year
    This new award will recognise an outstanding fundraising campaign that the judges think deserves the merit of being the best of the year. The judges will be open to submissions that are multi-channel or discipline specific. It could, for example, be an individual giving, legacy or digital campaign or focus on fundraising from a specific audience. It will clearly demonstrate excellence, creativity and innovation and closer connect supporters with beneficiaries.
  • The #ChangeCollective Award
    For an individual or organisation that has championed equality, diversity and inclusion in their fundraising or within their fundraising workforce. Building on the values set out in the Institute of Fundraising’s Manifesto for Change, this new award celebrates the work an individual or organisation has done to promote equality, diversity and inclusion in their fundraising activity, campaigns or organisational ways of working.
  • Regional Campaign of the Year
    For a charity that has demonstrated an innovative approach to regional fundraising. This may be for any type of activity used to raise charitable income on a specifically regional basis and may include events, volunteer-led fundraising, legacy or corporate partnerships. Nominations may be for a campaign conceived in, or targeted at, a particular geographical area, or a national campaign rolled out regionally.
  • Achievement in Philanthropy
    This Award recognises outstanding examples of philanthropy by an individual or organisation or a team that has achieved considerable and recognisable philanthropic impact. Entries for this Award are encouraged from trusts and foundations, philanthropy and major donor fundraising teams or individual fundraisers. Individual philanthropists can also be nominated for their philanthropic impact.

The returning award categories are:

  • Charity-Business Partnership of the Year
  • Large Fundraising Charity of the Year (over £5 million total annual income)
  • Small Fundraising Charity of the Year (under £5 million total annual income)
  • Most Committed Company to the Sector
  • Rising Star
  • Young Fundraiser of the Year (15 years or under)
  • Volunteer Fundraiser of the Year
  • Individual Giving Campaign of the Year
  • Innovation in Fundraising
  • Fundraising Event of the Year
  • Legacy Campaign of the Year
  • Best Supporter Experience
  • Best Use of Insight
  • Fundraiser of the Year
  • Lifetime Contribution to Fundraising

How to enter:

Visit the National Fundraising Awards website for more information on the event, including the general rules, criteria and how to apply. Submissions must be made online by 17:00 (GMT) on Wednesday 27 March 2019. Due to a strict judging timetable the deadline will not be extended.

For further information, please contact Felicity Spencer-Smith, External Affairs Officer via or on 0207 840 5493.

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.