INFINITI Launches the “INFINITI Coaches’ Charity Challenge” Campaign

INFINITI kicks off the most exciting season for college basketball with the “INFINITI Coaches’ Charity Challenge” and a new creative campaign that encourages fans to take a #timeout2vote for their favorite coaches and charities.

The INFINITI Coaches’ Charity Challenge is a unique aspect of the brand’s partnership with the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), the NCAA® and ESPN. At the start, 48 NCAA® Division I men’s basketball coaches compete for fan votes in a four-round contest that raises money for charities of the coaches’ choice.

INFINITI, an official corporate partner of the NCAA, will make donations throughout the competition totaling $349,000. The further the coaches advance in the competition, the more money they raise for their respective charities. The winning coach will receive $100,000 to benefit his charity of choice.

“The INFINITI Coaches’ Charity Challenge provides the perfect platform for college basketball coaches and fans to work as a team, providing significant financial support and awareness for so many worthy charitable initiatives,” said Jim Haney, NABC executive director. “Numerous national and local charitable organizations are the beneficiaries of the outstanding contributions made throughout the year by college basketball coaches across the country.”

While only one coach will win the grand prize, INFINITI has guaranteed each coach a donation of at least $1,000 to his chosen charitable organization.

Take a timeout2vote

Beginning Jan. 2, fans will decide the winner over a 10-week period by casting votes at Supporters can cast one vote per day for a coach’s charity. For the first time, basketball fans will be able to vote via Instagram and Twitter using the hashtag #timeout2vote.

“Every year INFINITI looks forward to working with NABC, NCAA® and ESPN to raise money for charities with the INFINITI Coaches’ Charity Challenge,” said Phil O’Connor, director, Marketing Communications and Media. “This year, our campaign focuses on the importance of timeouts both on and off the court, and we encourage fans to take a timeout from their daily lives to vote for their favorite coaches and their respective charities.”

The first round of voting takes place Jan. 2 and runs through Jan. 21, with half of the coaches advancing to a second round, held between Jan. 22 and Feb. 11. From Feb. 12 to 25, the 16 advancing coaches from round two will compete in a third round where only four coaches advance to the final, fourth round which takes place from Feb. 26 to March 10. The coach with the most votes, along with his chosen charity, will be announced on March 11.

“The INFINITI Coaches’ Charity Challenge is a very successful program that connects our fan base and college coaches in a fun way to worthy organizations and foundations in local communities,” said Ellen Lucey, NCAA director of championships and alliances, corporate relations, marketing and brand. “We’re pleased to be involved with the challenge this year as the program represents a way to return the support that is given to our member schools and our student-athletes.”

The challenge is further promoted across the ESPN digital and broadcast network including ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, and across several social media platforms.

The 48 coaches participating this year:

  • University of Alabama coach Avery Johnson, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • University of Arizona coach Sean Miller, competing for Casa de los Niños
  • Arizona State University coach Bobby Hurley, competing for Pat Tillman Foundation
  • Auburn University coach Bruce Pearl, competing for Children’s Harbor, Inc.
  • Baylor University coach Scott Drew, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • BYU coach Dave Rose, competing for BYU Simmons Center for Cancer Research
  • Central Florida University coach Johnny Dawkins, competing for Boys and Girls Club of Central Florida
  • Clemson University coach Brad Brownell, competing for The Outdoor Dream Foundation
  • University of Colorado coach Tad Boyle, competing for Special Olympics Colorado
  • Creighton University coach Greg McDermott, competing for Abide
  • University of Florida coach Mike White, competing for UF Health Shands Children’s Hospital
  • Georgia State University coach Ron Hunter, competing for Samaritan’s Feet International
  • Georgia Tech coach Josh Pastner, competing for WellStar Foundation
  • Gonzaga University coach Mark Few, competing for Community Cancer Fund
  • University of Illinois coach Brad Underwood, competing for United Way of Champaign County
  • University of Indiana coach Archie Miller, competing for Indiana University Dance Marathon
  • University of Iowa coach Fran McCaffery, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • Iowa State University coach Steve Prohm, competing for Lupus Foundation of America, Iowa Chapter
  • Kansas State University coach Bruce Weber, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • LSU coach Will Wade, competing for Baton Rouge Youth Coalition
  • Marquette University coach Steve Wojciechowski, competing for Camp Hometown Heroes
  • University of Maryland coach Mark Turgeon, competing for Alzheimer’s Association
  • University of Memphis coach Tubby Smith, competing for Tubby Smith Foundation
  • Michigan State University coach Tom Izzo, competing for Volunteers of America Michigan
  • University of Missouri coach Cuonzo Martin, competing for Boys & Girls Club of Columbia, Missouri
  • University of North Carolina coach Roy Williams, competing for UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • University of Notre Dame coach Mike Brey, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • University of Oklahoma coach Lon Kruger, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • University of Oregon coach Dana Altman, competing for Children’s Miracle Network (CMN)
  • Providence College coach Ed Cooley, competing for Amos House
  • Purdue University coach Matt Painter, competing for Smith Family BReaK Thru Fund
  • University of South Carolina coach Frank Martin, competing for South Carolina Center for Fathers and Families
  • St. John’s University coach Chris Mullin, competing for The Herren Project
  • St. Louis University coach Travis Ford, competing for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri
  • Stanford University coach Jerod Haase, competing for Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford
  • Stephen F. Austin State University coach Kyle Keller, competing for Nacogdoches Area United Way
  • Syracuse University coach Jim Boeheim, competing for Jim and Juli Boeheim Foundation
  • Texas Christian University coach Jamie Dixon, competing for Maggie Dixon Foundation
  • Temple University coach Fran Dunphy, competing for Big Brothers Big Sister Independence
  • University of Tennessee coach Rick Barnes, competing for Emerald Youth Foundation
  • UCLA coach Steve Alford, competing for Special Olympics Southern California
  • Vanderbilt University coach Bryce Drew, competing for Coaches vs. Cancer
  • Villanova University coach Jay Wright, competing for Augustinian Fund
  • University of Virginia coach Tony Bennett, competing for American Red Cross Virginia Region
  • Wake Forest University coach Danny Manning, competing for Special Olympics North Carolina
  • University of West Virginia coach Bob Huggins, competing for Norma Mae Huggins Cancer Research Endowment Fund
  • Wichita State University coach Gregg Marshall, competing for Wichita Children’s Home
  • University of Wisconsin coach Greg Gard, competing for Garding Against Cancer


Related posts

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.